Two More PCPS Students Named National Merit Scholars

Spread the love

Polk County Public Schools has another pair of National Merit Scholars for 2021, bringing the total to six. Agastya Mittal from International Baccalaureate at Bartow High, and Diego Verdaguer from Harrison School for the Arts are winners of college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships. The awards provide up to $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. Mittal’s scholarship is sponsored by the University of Central Florida; Verdaguer’s scholarship is sponsored by the University of Chicago. The two students are among 3,100-plus winners of college-financed National Merit Scholarships announced today. National Merit Scholars are distinguished high school seniors with “outstanding” academic records. Altogether, about 7,500 students nationwide will be named National Merit winners this year; a final list of recipients will be announced in July. In addition to Mittal and Verdaguer, PCPS has four National Merit Scholars this year: Kevin Chen, Tess Landreth and Vraj Patel, all from IB Bartow; and Nicholas Lopez from Winter Haven High.    

Be the first to comment on "Two More PCPS Students Named National Merit Scholars"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.